Search term

FIA WEC Bahrain Schaeffler and Porsche Travel to WEC Finale as World Champions

Pressrelease Stage Image

2017-11-15 | Herzogenaurach

Schaeffler and Porsche are tackling the finale of the FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) season in Bahrain on November 17/18 as brand new world champions.

Although one more race of the FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) is yet to be contested, Schaeffler and Porsche have already achieved their major aim. In the most recent event at Shanghai, a second place was enough for Earl Bamber, Timo Bernhard and Brendon Hartley to secure an early win of the world championship title in the WEC drivers’ classification. With an advantage of 42 points the trio is out of reach of any rivals. In the manufacturers’ classification, Schaeffler and Porsche can no longer be bumped from position one overall either. As a result, the two companies have won both world championship titles for the third time in succession after 2015 and 2016.

For the finale of the 2017 season, the WEC campaign is traveling to Bahrain. The season’s last race will be held on the 5.412-kilometer Bahrain International Circuit. The Grand Prix circuit in the western part of the island state has been an integral component of the calendar ever since the WEC’s inaugural season in 2012. At three events between 2014 and 2016, Schaeffler and Porsche 2015 celebrated a victory.

In the motorsport scene, the WEC is known as a particularly tough as well as an ideal test laboratory for innovative powertrain technologies. It is an appropriate environment for a company like Schaeffler that is doing pioneering work in the development of hybrid systems for production vehicles. The Porsche 919 Hybrid, which is fielded in the top LMP1 category, is powered by both an internal combustion engine and an electric motor.

For Schaeffler, the WEC round in Bahrain marks the end of the 2017 motorsport season. But just two weeks later (December 2/3) on-track activities will continue for the technology group when the 2017/2018 Formula E season kicks off in Hong Kong. Schaeffler has been involved in the innovative electric racing series since its 2014/2015 inaugural season. Team Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler with driver Lucas di Grassi won the drivers’ title in 2017.

Info material:

Publisher: Schaeffler Technologies AG & Co. KG
Country: Germany


Package (Press release + media)

Share Page

Schaeffler applies cookies to secure an optimal use. With the further use of this website you accept the application of cookies. More Information